CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reports

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> General/Other

MySQL Connection Error (authentification with old password)

Print topic Send  topic

jperdomo

Posted: 01/31/2015, 7:27 AM

Hello

I'm new in CCS, I try to connect to MySQL Internet Database in my server, it have MySQL Remote Access Enabled, but when test the connection receive this error:

Test connection failed because of provider initialization error. Authentication with old password no longer supported, use 4.1 style password. Continue?. (Yes/No).

How I can change to use 4.1 style password? or how to connect in this case.

Thanks,
J. Perdomo
View profile  Send private message
pbarkley

Posted: 02/26/2016, 1:26 PM

This is an old thread but I ran into this recently. This issue, and the subsequent damage to the common.php file that was caused, kept me busy for 5 days, so hopefully I can help someone else here avoid this.

First, the problem is that the older style MySQL database uses 16 byte hashes for passwords. The newer style is 41 bytes. If you want to make the problem go away on the database side, you need to have access to the my.cnf file. You may not have that access in a shared hosting environment such as MediaTemple, unless you purchase an upgraded container. This file needs to have the following set:

old_passwords = 1

Then you need to reboot the server. After that it will accept short hashes, so change the password on your database (to get rid of the long hash password already there), and your problem is solved. However, you have now weakened your database security.

To test whether this is working, you can use phpMyAdmin (or anything else) to send the database the following SLQ:

SHOW VARIABLES LIKE 'OLD_PASSWORDS'

If this is turned on properly to accept the old, short hashes, it will say the value is ON.