CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Visual PHP Web Development

Visually Create Internationalized Web Applications, Web Reports, Calendars, and more.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> Archive -> GotoCode Archive

ugh! Newbie Desperately needs help!

Print topic Send  topic

Kassandra
Posted: 03/12/2003, 10:48 AM

Hello,
Need some help. I'm a newbie. (We all have to start someplace). And, I'm currently trying to test codecharge.

But, I'm stuck at the gate. I read the manual. Read the Quick start. But didn't find either enlightening. Probably due to my lack of experience and knowledge.

I have the current version dl on to my hard drive. CodeCharge 2.x. I'm running Win98. I unzipped codecharge into appropriate files. I have dl AND installed the current version of ODBC 3.51. And, I am stumped at "Properties".

My server has Mysql + PhpAdmin and is on Safemode. I have the mysql database name, user name and password. That part is ready to go.

At this point I am simply trying to make a connection with my database.

GENERAL:
I will be using Php4.0 w/Templates

PUBLISHING:
1. Location:
I've tried both ftp and local/network. Wasn't able to connect with either one. The ftp with and without passive mode.

What is recommended?

2. Path/Folder:
Are we talking absolute filder:

/usr/local/psa/home/html/classifieds

Or, are we talking:
mydomain.com/classifieds

3. Live Site URL:
I assume this is: http://mydomain.com/classifieds, right?

DATABASE:
1. Type & Data Source Name:
Here, I am totally confused. According the manual, with mysql and php, I should use DSN. No problem. But what do I use for the Data Source Name?

I'm using mysql on the server. I do have MS Access 2000 but haven't installed it. Should I install it and choose it for my DSN? Tried ODBC 3.51 but it says that I'm not allowed.

2. Server/Hosts:
Is localhost ok or do I need mydomain.com?

3. Join Style: