CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Visual PHP Web Development

Visually Create Internationalized Web Applications, Web Reports, Calendars, and more.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> Archive -> GotoCode Archive

Two-tiered site - how to create 2nd header?

Print topic Send  topic

VBAjedi
Posted: 10/07/2003, 4:34 PM

I'm brand new at this, so this may be easy:

Current scenario: Users of all levels log in, and all have access to four or five viewable-grid pages via the links in the header. I've got that working.

What I want: When users click on a link named "Admin" which I have placed in the header, check that their access priviledges are sufficient, then take them to a second set/tier of editable-grid pages which use a different header (to move around in the pages of that set).

I think I have created a second header page (I just inserted a new page and pasted in the HTML from the CCS-generated header page, then edited the links in that HTML). I also have the second-tier pages created (just the CCS-generated edit grid pages). But I can't get them to display my second header instead of the default one (I went into the HTML and substituted "adminheader" for "header", but it doesn't appear in the published page). Attempting to directly view the header from a browser takes me (as best as I can describe) to a directory-view page showing the components of my custom header.

1) How do I check the current user's access priviledges when the "Admin" link is clicked?
2) How do I create a second header (something isn't right with my attempt!)?
3) How do I include this second header on the pages in my second tier?

Those questions seem so general. . . but I don't know how to be more specific!

Thanks for any help you can offer!

VBAjedi
ryan
Posted: 10/08/2003, 12:51 AM

First make a login page set the security on Project Settings peoperly

Then create a page that will check for Session("GroupID") CCS already put this into a function called CCGetGroupID()