CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reporting

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> General/Other

Problem with "retrieve value for control"

Print topic Send  topic

pkno

Posted: 04/28/2004, 10:45 PM

Hi everybody,

I'm new to CCS but familiar with php and application programming. In fact we're still in the evaluation phase of CCS and right from the beginning we ran into a problem. :-/
Task: Pass values entered in a form to a display page.
I was strictly following the user guide and inserted a named label into the display page, added an action "before show" -> "retrieve value for control" with a data source "form" and the parameter which was handed over by the form.
Result: Nothing is displayed.:-D
By changing the code in a way which just displays the handed over parameter, I can confirm that the parameter was correctly passed to the page. It just does not show up in the defined label.
This happens in PHP as well as in ASP.
Can anybody help?

Peter
View profile  Send private message
peterr

Posted: 04/28/2004, 11:38 PM

What is the URL after you submit your form?
(I'd like to check what parameters are in the URL, if any)
pkno

Posted: 04/29/2004, 12:27 AM

Hmm...
As I'm submitting the form by a "POST", there are no values within the URL. But to answer your question I switched to "GET" and the URL is as follows: ...formtest2.php?Name1=Hallo&Name2=Welt&Submit1=Submit
Looks allright, doesn't it?
As I said, I can confirm that the parameters are correctly passed to the receiving page and I can make them visible by a "print" statement in some custom code.
In the meantime I also made an additional test by changing the server. The first try was on a Windows2000 Server with IIS and PHP4 for Windows, the second was an Apache on a Linux system with PHP4. Same result!

Peter
peterr

Posted: 04/29/2004, 12:41 AM