CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reports

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> General/Other

Passing authenticated user from one appl to another appl.

Print topic Send  topic

chris

Posted: 05/14/2004, 7:58 AM

Hi,

I am fairly new to CCS, and I built some applications with user-authentication. I want to group the applications, by calling them from a (I call it a) Portal.
I want to keep my existing appl with the built-in user mgt (I always use the same structure for all appls)
So my default entry would be the Portal-page, where I logon in, depending on my login, I would display a number of apps, I can access. If I click on the link, I should access the existing appl, but because I authenticated already on the portal page, I would not want to get prompted again for the login-screen of the appl, but pass the user-name/group-name to that appl.
Is this possible, and can I pass the information and prevent the appl from requesting authentication ?

thx,

Chris

WinXP IIS/PHP/MySQL
View profile  Send private message
peterr

Posted: 05/14/2004, 9:45 AM

If all your applications are on the same server and all applications utilize the same Session variable names (Project -> Settings -> Security -> Advanced) then single login should work automatically, meaning that logging into one application will create the server session variables, which will be present in all other applications.
chris

Posted: 05/16/2004, 9:22 AM

Thx Peter,

It worked ! But you need to have the same domain-name ! In my initial tests I mixed LOCALHOST and my real DOMAIN-name, then it did not work !

Chris
peterr

Posted: 05/16/2004, 2:15 PM