CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reporting

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> Java

Test connection failed because of Provider initialization error

Print topic Send  topic

Rajani

Posted: 08/02/2005, 3:28 PM

Hi,

I am new to codecharge and trying to set up few test pages. First thing i tried is to create a database connection to use in my page and my test connection fails.

I am using Microsoft OLE DB provider for Oracle under the tab Provider and provided the server name, login and password for my db server. My db server is not running on my local machine.

JDBC Driver i am using is oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver.

Does anyone come across similar kind of problem? Any pointers to this problem would be helpful.

Thanks,
Rajani.
View profile  Send private message
peterr

Posted: 08/02/2005, 6:13 PM

Could you please provide the settings that you entered in to the Connection->Design?
I think that jdbc is not important here because JDBC will be used only later at run-time by the Java programs. CCS itself uses standard ODBC or other non-java drivers.
rpenubothu
Posted: 08/03/2005, 10:58 AM

Hi,

Thanks for your response. Here are the details of my Connection -> Design

Connection Name: Connection1
Database : ANSI SQL-92
Connection String: Provider=MSDAORA.1;User ID=APPDATA;Data Source=DEV06;Persist Security Info=False
Username :appdata
User Password :pswd

Thanks,
Rajani.
peterr

Posted: 08/03/2005, 11:28 AM

I personally don't use Oracle but based on http://www.carlprothman.net/Default.aspx?tabid=87#OLEDB...leFromMicrosoft I would try:
Provider=msdaora;Data Source=MyOracleDB;User Id=myUsername;Password=myPassword

I also see that you're missing the password in your connection string. I would also try using username and password either within the connection string, or within connection Username/User Password settings, but not both.