CodeCharge Studio
search Register Login  

Web Reports

Visually create Web Reports in PHP, ASP, .NET, Java, Perl and ColdFusion.
CodeCharge.com

YesSoftware Forums -> CodeCharge Studio -> .NET

Problem with scope of DBUtility in page header

Print topic Send  topic

commlinx

Posted: 08/12/2008, 1:15 AM

I'm new to CCS and .NET development not having done much web development for five years or so. I've created a page header and would like to display the name of the currently logged in user on the header. I've looked at the examples / help and came up with the following code in the AfterInitialize event for the header page:

protected void Page_AfterInitialize(object sender, EventArgs e) {  
  if (DBUtility.UserID != null)   
     UserLogin.SetValue(DBUtility.UserLogin);   
}  

However when trying to publish and run I get the following error / highlighted code line:

Compiler Error Message: CS0103: The name 'DBUtility' does not exist in the current context
if (DBUtility.UserID != null)

I looked at several examples and made sure that I was using all the same classes at the top of the ascx.cs file. Is there something different I should be doing to do this sort of thing in a page header?
View profile  Send private message
tsgroman

Posted: 08/12/2008, 6:47 PM

The UserLogin is exposed through the Session("UserLogin") variable by default.

Drop a label on a page and add a 'Retrieve Value for Control' Action to the 'Before Show' server event.

Control Name = the name of the label
Source Type = Session
Source Name = UserLogin

The defaults can be changed via the Project -> Settings -> Security -> Advanced.
commlinx

Posted: 08/12/2008, 8:34 PM